correspondence I

Carl: I don’t know, man, sometimes I feel like leaving this life behind me and just hopping on a train to wherever… I don’t understand how people can be so comfortable with repetitive lifestyles. I just want to travel and change the world, man…

Michael: This is where I’ll say, know your enemy first. I know you’ll say something like I’ve no enemies or enemies are a product of hate or whatever. But it’s change. Change is a conduit not everyone can understand and fit into. So where does one begin? Home is the only answer I can think of so far. Home is where the heart is and perhaps it’s even ground zero. Though I don’t know about everyone else, I know there are a plethora of things I can’t confide to my own family. I dunno man, I’ll talk in loops, but what do you think. tell us.

C: I’m sure I have enemies man, I wouldn’t doubt the fact that there are people who hate me, but I’m cool with it man, ya know? I’d rather gain an enemy being myself, then a friend pretending to be someone I’m not. My life up to this point as been a beautiful, scary journey man… I honestly don’t know how to explain it in words. My house is not a home, man, I’m so lonely here, there is nobody I can relate to, not even in the town I live in or when I was in college… Everyone is expecting me to be so rich and successful, but, like, nobody understands I don’t want to be. I have no desire to conform to society and participate in useless consumerisms. My family hardly knows me and I have all of these expectations to become someone I have no desire of being. I know my family loves me to an extent, but it seems like they love the thought of me becoming someone they want me to be, rather than loving me as I am. I got nothing but love for everybody, and I just feel like I’m wasting my time being where I am. I don’t know, I can’t even think straight right now, man. But thanks Michael, definitely something to think about. It’s just killing me to keep the peace within myself when I’m not content with my life.

M: I’m not sure if it was Carnegie, but I think he said, “Show me a contented man, and I’ll show you a failure.” You’re a thinker, and from what it’s worth, a genuine philosopher. The real one’s aren’t too articulate to begin with, instead, they just do. But I know where you’re coming from, I know those silly expectations people have of you because they’ve expected it of me too. The only solace I can give you right now, brother, is that you aren’t alone. There are others who feel the same way. As for myself, I often wonder why I have to be such an adult about everything when I never even got the chance to be a regular 5 year old. It’s like we were pushed into it here, this consumerist, throw-away culture and all. But can we really just get up and go? Like Kerouac did half a century ago?

C: It was Thomas Edison that said that. It does have some truth to it though, but I can’t help but think. -what if a man’s dream is to be content with life? Does that make his dream unworthy of being pursued? That quote creates so many questions, very good questions, actually.

That really makes me feel good that you think of me in that light, though. Thanks, man. I feel like its my calling to change the world; to finally see the world live in peace, where we can live out our temporary existences on this Earth as we should. It’s a very overwhelming feeling. We are pushed into all of this, brainwashed to believe this is the way life should be lived when it’s simply just an opinion of how it should be based on the beliefs of another. When the people of this world open either one of their shut eyelids, getting up and going will be all that there is left to do, ya know? Why should you have to be deprived of such an indispensable time in your life? Why should anyone? We’ve created this illusion that things have to be a certain way and conform to a pre-set list of expectations to be considered right, failing to realize that thinking that way is far away from being true, man.

M: …what is one man’s life, really, but a murmur within the foghorn of humanity’s existence.

Ashleigh: This is me all over. Staying in one location bores and stresses me.

M: Kierkegaard once said “boredom is the root of all evil.” even though he lived in a completely different timeline, it was as though he knew. I guess that’s what philosophers do. They say shit that applies to anyone from any timeline.

C: Then how? How do we get outta this, man?

M: I don’t know where to begin, just clues to where to begin I guess. Jefferson said, “the price of freedom is eternal vigilance.”

A: That’s like, the rest of our lives then, right?

C: Eternal‘s a pretty long time.

M: Not if you’re having a blast, I guess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.