a gift to lovers

No one really wants to make love on a sandy beach or a public bathroom. You realize that real couples never really fly off to New York or Paris on a moment’s notice. But you would ride up nine extra floors in an elevator just to talk with each other, and watch Three’s Company in Spanish with each other while drinking wine in a coffee mug. If you’re lucky, you’ll even do funny voices or accents in public or shout embarrassing things together as a form of liberation from social standards, or even just for a quick laugh. But those quick little laughs build up into something more beautiful than wanting to write a book where Salvador Dali died, or pee into the last toilet Jayne Mansfield ever flushed. We’re not a society of people who love others at the end of the day because of the achievements they’ve made, though romantic in thought, or the achievements others saw them make, we’re people that love other people because we love the little things no one else notices. Our notices of the little details are proof that we love deeper than some guy admiring the magazine stand or the girl ogling MTV2. I love that your hands are always freezing, and that mine aren’t, and how better they’d be together. I love that you order in the most fickle way because you don’t want certain things to touch on your plate, but think salsa and baby carrots are acceptable. I love that your teeth are always showing when you try to look cute. I love that you think it’s cute. I love how I want to spend every day with you. I love that I can smell your scent in some of my clothes you borrowed when you went jogging. I love when you borrow my clothes without asking. I love how I get whiffs of your scent when I do simple every day things, even pooping. I love you because “when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start immediately.” I wouldn’t want to start the rest of my life with anyone else. I love you.

by Cecil Shelby in A Note I Forgot to Send Because My Apartment Was Being Fumigated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

